May 2

1835 - The Prophet Joseph Smith, at a meeting of the Priesthood leaders of the Church held in Kirtland, Ohio, organizes the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles for the first time in this dispensation.  The original Twelve, in order of seniority, were: Thomas B. Marsh, David W. Patten, Brigham Young, Heber C. Kimball, Orson Hyde, William E. McLellin, Parley P. Pratt, Luke S. Johnson, William Smith, Orson Pratt, John F. Boynton, and Lyman E. Johnson.

1839 - The Prophet Joseph returned to Quincy, Illinois,  after traveling north and choosing a new gathering place for the Saints, to bring his family from Quincy to Commerce, Illinois, and their new home----an area soon to be called Nauvoo.

1965 - The first stake in Mississippi is organized in Jackson.

1993 - The Mormon Tabernacle Choir performs in the newly renovated Catholic Cathedral of the Madeleine in Salt Lake City, Utah.

2002 - The First Lady of Paraguay, Susana Galli de Gonzales Macchi, attended the open house of the Asuncion Paraguay Temple.

2009 - The Brigham Young University rugby team won the USA Rugby national championship by defeating California 25-22 in Palo Alto, California.

2010 - The Vancouver British Columbia Temple was dedicated by President Thomas S. Monson.